My friend Tron (aka Megan Quicke) is the type of person who sets clear, ambitious goals and then takes the leap needed in order to accomplish these. She declared 2009 her ‘power year’ and she set out to re-direct her life in a very intentional way towards creative projects that really feed her soul. Her power year, with its clearly defined goals and public presence was very inspirational. Now, with her life somewhat re-focused, she has issued a challenge to others to have their own power year. And since I have such a hard time saying no, I accepted the challenge.

Lately, I’ve been spread really thin, so when Tron announced that she wanted to share her power year concept and that she would facilitate an online ‘power year pledge class’, I immediately thought that sounded like a great idea, but how would I ever fit it into my already over-booked life. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that an intentional power year was exactly what I needed to re-focus my life.

So, being that it is 2011, and 11 is a magical number since I am born on the 11th day, I am declaring this a power year. It seems fitting since 2009 was the worst year ever – then, I vowed to make 2010 ten times better than 2009 by declaring it the year of action and getting things done – and now that there are too many things vying for my time and energy, 2011 will be a year of disciplined re-focusing.

Power On!

